Broken Records - Nude Record Label

Broken Records

Official Artist Website

Broken Records formed at the end of 2006.The band was originally a three-piece comprising Jamie Sutherland, brother Rory Sutherland (violin, guitar and accordion), and Ian Turnbull (guitar, piano and accordion). After a few performances they added Arne Kolb (cello), Dave Smith (piano, trumpet), Andrew Keeney (drums), and David Fothergill (bass). Broken Records played 60 gigs in 2007 and recorded a session for BBC Radio 1 at the Maida Vale studios.They played a well-received set at T in the Park’s T Break stage in 2007 and went on to play two sets at the 2008 Connect Festival, including a well-attended headlining set at the Your Sound bandstand.

Signed to Nude for publishing prior to releasing two acclaimed albums on 4AD, Until The Earth Begins To Part (2009) and In August 2010, second album, entitled Let Me Come Home .

The album was produced by Tony Doogan, and features artwork by renowned graphic artist Vaughan Oliver.

After some time off they returned with their third album Weights & Pulleys in May 2014 . In the past they’ve toured extensively in the UK, Europe and the US with their own headline shows and festival slots, as well as touring support slots with The National, Editors and The Black Keys.

Use of the violin, cello, and accordion gives them a distinctly Scottish edge . The NME branded them the Scottish Arcade Fire.